Dinner: Texas Style

Even though my Yankee grandpa specifically warned me not to become too Texan, that hasn’t stopped me from attempting to eat all the great food that the Lone Star State has to offer. If you are what you eat, then I’m in trouble.

Whether you’re from out of state and are looking to do the same or even if you’re smack-dab in the center of Texas like I am, go buy this book: United Tastes of Texas: A Culinary Tour of the Lone Star State. Jessica DuPuy will guide you through each of the state’s regions with delightfully simple recipes and insightful cultural know-how.

Here are some images from our first foray into West Texas Chili.

IMG_1880.jpg

As you can see, I opted to add beans to our chili, which is apparently a very non-Texan thing to do. My husband has since made a slow-cooker version without them and we might be a beanless-chili family from here on out.

Also, you guys, I have a skillet. Check it.

IMG_1861.jpg

With this cookbook, you’ll be the star of your next barbecue, be it in Texas or Philadelphia.

IMG_1869.jpg

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

