Berry Banana Smoothie Bowl

I love a good, nutritious smoothie and with all the images of gorgeous smoothie bowls on Instagram lately, I was inspired to create my very first smoothie bowl. My go-to ingredients and tips on first time smoothie bowl photography are below. Enjoy!

Here’s what I used to create the smoothie:

*3/4 cup frozen blueberries, raspberries, and blackberries

*1/4 daily serving of Vega Chocolate All-in-One Nutritional Shake

*1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk

*a shake of ground cinnamon

Normally, I would just guzzle down the smoothie itself, but this time I poured it in a bowl and topped it with one chopped banana, a handful of frozen berries, and a sprinkling of oats. It was so good! The Vega nutritional powder is plant-based, and it’s my favorite, most easily digestible protein powder that I’ve tried thus far.

IMG_1765

Here’s what I would suggest for other first time smoothie bowl photographers:

One: Have a plan. Unless you want to sip a purely liquid mixture by the time you’re done, you’ll want to act quickly once you get started. If you’re unsure of how you want to lay out your toppings, figure this out before you put your smoothie in the bowl.

Two: Practice said plan. I had a vague idea of what I wanted to do with the banana, but when I picked it up, laying it out was far less easy to achieve than my last ditch effort that you see above.

Three: If you want to photograph your food in natural light, which I highly recommend, set up your photography station before you begin. Not only will this help you avoid drinking a warm, liquidy “smoothie” out of the bowl, but it will also help avoid having a ring of, in this case, purple around the edge of the bowl where the mixture used to hit before it started its not-so-slow melt.

Four: Don’t photograph hungry! I always rush my pictures when I’m hungry because, well, I just can’t wait to eat what I made.

Lastly: I plan on making the smoothie even thicker next time by using less almond milk. That way, I’ll have a bit more leeway before the mix gets melty.

Alrighty. Those are my rookie tips for photographing smoothie bowls. I can’t wait to keep photographing more of my creations to share with you!

~ a simple toast

Leave a Reply

